Using a LiftAssist Kinematics

I am new to the software and started my first project last week. Currently i am trying to use a crane boom in combination with the Lift Assist Handle L to move objects. Therefore i assigned the Follow me tab to the wanted tool and defined the feed and need tasks in the works process. The task it self works but the Assist Handle is “flying” around and not atteched to the moving crane in any way. So the simulation looks really.

Is it possible to combine or attach the crane boom and the Lift Assist Handle in order to make it look more realistic?

Good luck. See pages 22-23 in the reference manual (version 3) for some insights, https://community.visualcomponents.net/Portals/0/Tutorials/2014/WorksReference.pdf

Been a while since I used the components, so hopefully others can help you. All I remember is that simulation speed will affect how quickly the lift assist updates its location and renders.

Could you share a layout that highlights the problem you are having? It’s easier to help when we understand completely what you are struggling with.

Thanks for your response.

I already used the works tutorial to fix the problem but i couldn’t succeed.

I added a picture where you cab see the crane and the lift assist. I hope the problem is clearer to you now.

Hi all, I am new to this software as well. I am looking to use the LiftAssist Kinematics to move a turbine engine around my “factory floor”. I am pretty new to this software and I am unable to understand the pdf file that was recommended previously. Any advice on how to tackle this? Thanks

The crane, boom and telescope won’t do the work for you. All they do is follow an attached component. That attached component is the actual tool which can be used to pick and place parts. The tool has to be used by a human, and the tool has to be referenced by name in the task, e.g. Feed.

See attached “Works - Lift Assist.vcmx” which is a simple use case made in 4.1.

Works-Lift-Assist.vcmx (4.83 MB)