Setting up communication between real and virtual robot

Hey guys,
I am new to vc and have a project to do.
I want to connect a virtual and a real robot in a way that both of them will copy the pose/ movement of each other.

In the case you will move the real robot, the virtual will do the same and vice versa.

I will appreciate any help or suggestion.

p.s. I am also trying to find someone to undertake this project for me but no luck till now. If you have any lead about that, would be great!

Cheers

1 Like

Hi,

Could you specify which robot manufacturer you are working with? And what kind of communication interfaces does it support?

-k

Hey,

it is a universal robot ur10. It uses tcp/ip for remote control and real time data exchange.

Best

If you have VC Premium you can use the RTDE Plugin to communicate with UR Robot. To get info about that check this Academy video: https://academy.visualcomponents.com/lessons/simulate-universal-robots-with-rtde-connection/
and also section “Universal Robots RTDE Plugin” in the application’s help:

If you don’t have Premium then you could try to use python scripts and python socket to communicate with the controller. There are few posts on this forum about sockets. For example on this one I posted few example models where two robots are communicating with UDP and TCP/IP sockets within the layout: How to read values from external python script

-k

1 Like

I am truly amazed!
I have the pro version and that plugin, I think, is exactly what I was trying to recreate!

I was using this UDP/ TCP socket example to start my work but this plugin is super handy!

So many thanks!

Note that the RTDE interface is only for exchanging robot IO and status information such as joint values. It doesn’t allow you to directly command the robot to move to certain pose for example.