Change component property

Hey,
I’m new to VC but I would like to thank your courses and lessons that are very clear even for people like me where english is not native language.

I’m able to simulate a conveyor that feed different kind of boxes but I kept changing the box’s height in order to check if my robot do the job the way I wanted.
Is there a way with python script to randomly modify box’s height into the conveyor , then to simulate it and the conveyor send box with different height.

Hope you’ll be able to understand what I’m saying.
thx in advance

1 Like

Hi,

With python’s random module you can randomly set a real parameter. So let’s say you have a conveyor component which has a path called “Path__HIDE__”. Then you feed block parts on the conveyor which have a real parameter “Height_Z” to set the height of the block. Now you could create a python script in the conveyor and use the snippet below to set that height to a random value between 200 and 400 mm when part enters the conveyor.

from vcScript import *
import random

comp = getComponent()
path = comp.getBehaviour('Path__HIDE__')

def part_transition(part, arrive):
  if not arrive:
    return
  prop = part.getProperty('Height_Z')
  if not prop:
    return
  prop.Value = random.uniform(200, 400)

path.OnTransition = part_transition

Here’s an example model (app version 4.2):
Random_block.vcmx (180.4 KB)

-k

I’ve an example with creating randomized cylinders, which are in a component.
The “Cylinder” feature is changed after creation randomly and then it’s updated.

Setting properties on a feature (Height, Radius, etc.) requires str as far I know. They are expressions.

The second part is the detection of these properties on the “Cylinder” feature.
CreatorRandomCylinder.vcmx (194.3 KB)

PS: Using path-sensors, require that the frame is also on the Path itself. If you forget this, the sensor does not detect anything. A better approach could be the use of the ProcessModel. But I haven’t used it yet.