Using python script to attach object

Hi,
I have closed conveyor system that loops around with two sledges on the conveyor. Both sledges also have small box on them that I want to first pick up with a robot when sledge reaches sensor on the conveyor belt that stops conveyor until robot has picked the box. When both boxes are picked up I want to place them back to the sledges when they arrive to the sensor when they are empty. The problem is when I place box back to sledge it doesn’t attach to the sledge so it won’t start moving with it when the conveyor starts again. I know there is python command “robot.releaseComponent()” that would fix it but I don’t know how I would use it. I’m pretty new to visual components and python. My first idea was to make a script that would first check if the robot is holding the box and is the sledge empty and is the robot in correct position (or maybe use some variable instead of position) but I have no idea what the syntax for something like that would look like.

I think it’s easier to answer if you attach your project to your post.

You could make a reference to the ComponentContainer and use the method “grab” to put the Component into the ComponentContainer. The output port of ComponentContainer can attached to the input port of Path, if there is a Path.

From the other view, a Component has the method “transfer” which accepts (vcBehaviour, port) or (vcConnector). I think the use of a ComponentContainer is better.

I pretty much want do something like in this tutorial video: https://academy.visualcomponents.com/lessons/place-parts-on-moving-objects/