Python read IO from signals

Hi!

I am quite new to VC and stuck on a problem. I was wondering if someone can help me out.

I have a robot arm which I have given it’s own Boolean signal out. I want to connect this boolean to another part so I can activate the servo controller when the robot gives a true statement to the signal.

For some reason I can’t find anything about how connect this signal to the input. What am I doing wrong? Is there another function that I can use?

Are you trying to connect the signals via Python? Or are you trying to set a signals value?

Hello DennisP!
It seems to be a very strange way of writing, getApplication is missing “()”, and then about your question, it seems that you want to monitor the SignalMapIn of comp, but there is a problem, comp is a component type, which is vcComponent. You can check it by “print comp”. After pressing F1 to enter the help file, search for vcComponent. You will find that it does not have the properties or methods of SignalMapIn, so you should not listen to comp.
Search for SignalMapIn in the help file and you will find that it is a property of vcHelpers.Robot and vcHelpers.Robot2. That is to say, to use this property, you must be a robot component. As you can see, where you write this code, it is just a Simply an institution, not a robot. To use this attribute, first you need to have a robot controller instead of a servo, then get the robot handle through getRobot(), and finally listen to the SignalMapIn of this handle. This is what should be done when the component is a robot. But what we have to consider is that we don’t always want a moving component to be a complex robot. For simple components, we prefer it to be driven by a servo. Therefore, Visual Components also has another way to monitor SignalMap.