Print statistics in Output using Python

Hello everyone! I am new to Visual Components and I am currently facing some problems I hope someone could help me out.

I am trying to print a data from a “Statistics” behaviour in the “Behaviours” section of the GenericRobot onto the Output panel just as how I have done for the Conveyor.

The data I am trying to collect is the PartsTotalTime. I would like the Robot to print how long it was in Operation, I figured if the robot detects that a part has exited the Robot, it would print PartsTotalTime.

I am fairly new to Python as well shifting from C, however this logic seems to work in my head but doesn’t seem to be working on Visual Components. There is definitely something I am understanding wrongly.

Here is the code I have written:

from vcScript import *
from vcStatistics import *
from vcHelpers.Robot2 import *

comp = getComponent()
app = getApplication()
stats = comp.findBehaviour(“Statistics”)
robot_executor = comp.findBehaviour(“Executor”)

def OnRun():
if (stats.PartsIntervalExited != 0):
print stats.PartsTotalTime

Thank you very much.

1 Like

Hi @Thenolypus and welcome to the forum!

OnRun is an event that is called when the simulation clock starts to run.

In your example, this is what happens:

1. simulation starts and OnRun event handler is called
  2. in your code “if (stats.PartsIntervalExited != 0)” is evaluated which translates to: “if there has been one or more exits from the robot’s grasp container during the last interval (60 s by default)…”
  3. and continues with the print “…then print the cumulative time over the simulation duration when at least one part has been in the gripper” and
  4. after that OnRun method returns (exits). So, that code is run only once right at the point when the simulation begins.