How to control other Components/Joints from a Joint?

Hello everyone!

I am trying to control another Component with a joint (for example “Joint_Door” from Component “Door”) from a main Component with a Rotational Joint (for example “Joint_Switch” from Component “Control Panel”).

I would like to know if there is a way to link them together? I have tried using “Translational Follower” however that only finds joints within the component. I would like to be able to control a joint from another component via the joint on the main component, in other perspectives, I would like to be able to control a “door” using a “rotational switch”, both coming from different components and different joints.

Is it also possible to make it function in both Zero time and Simulation runtime? I would like to be able to use the “Interact” button and control it when the simulation is not running AND when it is.

Is what i am asking impossible to recreate in Visual Components 4.2? I am relatively new to this program and I do know I have a lot I do not know, it would be wonderful if others could share their insights on this.

Thank you very much!

I was able to use sync task to control other work processes. However, I am not sure if it will work in this case… Anyway, if you are new with this software check tasks reference guide: Works Library - Tasks Reference Guide

Thank you for your response, I am relatively familiar with the Work Processes, however currently I am not dealing with Work Processes, rather Joints via “Create Link”. I would like to know if it is possible to control other links that has a “JointType” from another link of a different component.

Thank you once again!

I think you will need to make a Python script that reads one joint value and then sets another. I’m not sure if there are suitable events, though.