Access/change part within a buffer... Possible?

Is it possible to access and change specific parts within a buffer, without removing them from the buffer?

What I would like to achieve (with or without using a buffer), is to have a row of shipping containers lined up somewhere, pick one, and fill it up where it stands before shipping it off. While it’s being loaded, I’d like to have it temporarily replaced with an assembly of an open container with slots to be filled… In other words, I’d like to assemble an assembly inside a buffer slot… :man_facepalming:

I suspect the answer is no, but I thought I’d ask :sweat_smile:

I suppose I can achieve something visually similar to this with lots and lots of nodes, paths and painstaking coordination, but would be really neat if it could be done with only one buffer. I’m open to any other suggestion. I’m very new to this, and have lots to learn. Thanks :slightly_smiling_face:

Probably not with a buffer, but you could clone several Process Nodes in a row.
In each process, you then do the following:

1. Transport In an empty container
  2. (Optional: Change type to an empty assembly / ope container if needed)
  3. Transport In parts to fill the container
  4. Transport Out the whole thing

Sorry for late response. I’ve been trying it out. Started simple the way you suggested (I have 5 process nodes so far), but I want it more coordinated.

If I remember correctly, the 4 steps you gave me (And which I am quite familiar with) changed all my containers simultaneously, and the feeder filled them up concurrently. I think this changed a bit when I gave each node a unique name, in which the feeder started prioritizing node 1, but would also feed the others whenever it could/had time.